Department of History

Brief Profile of the Department

The Post-graduate classes in History first started in March 1976 in the P.G.Wing of MBB College, Agartala. The Calcutta University Post Graduate Study Centre (CUPG Centre) came into being in 1977, with a single student in the Department of History. In 1987 CUPG centre was converted into Tripura University. At first, the Department of History was known as the Department of Modern History under Calcutta University. Later on, with the establishment of Tripura University on 2nd October, 1987, the Department was renamed as the Department of History with its own syllabus. In 1997, the Department revised its syllabus with Part-I & Part-II system. In 2004, the syllabus was further revised as per UGC guidelines with unit system. And after conversion to Central University, a semester system was introduced in the Department from the academic session 2008.The Department endeavours and organize Seminars / Workshops / Popular lectures etc,. At present the Department has 2 (two) non-teaching staff, 3 (three) guest-teachers and 7 (seven) regular Faculty members.

Year of Establishment:


Head of the Department:

Dr. Monisankar Misra



Total Number of Visitors : 4928857

Tripura University © All Rights Reseverd

Last Update : 28/05/2024 02:03:20

Designed and Developed by Dataflow System