

## त्रिपुरा विश्वविद्यालय / TRIPURA UNIVERSITY सूर्यमणिनगर/Suryamaninagar, त्रिपुरा/Tripura - 799022

No. F.TU/REG/EC/Emergent Meeting/2023

Date: 31.08.2023

Minutes of the Emergent Meeting of the Executive Council held on 31.08.2023 at 3:00 P.M. in the Council Hall, Administrative Building, Tripura University (through virtual mode).

## Members present: 1. Prof. Ganga Prasad Prasain, - Ex-officio Chairman Vice-Chancellor, Tripura University. 2. Prof. C.B. Majumder, - Member Senior Professor (Other than the Dean), Tripura University. 3. Prof. Shyamal Das, - Member Dean, Faculty of Arts & Commerce, Tripura University. 4. Prof. Badal Kumar Datta, - Member Dean, Faculty of Science, Tripura University. 5. Prof. Smriti Kumar Sinha, - Member (Visitor's Nominee) Department of Computer Science (through virtual mode) & Engineering, Tezpur University. 6. Prof. Dipjyoti Rajkhowa, - Member (Visitor's Nominee) Joint Director, ICAR, NEH Region, (through virtual mode) Nagaland Centre, Dimapur, Nagaland. 7. Prof. Nirmalya Narayan Chakraborty, -Member (Visitor's Nominee) Department of Philosophy, (through virtual mode) Rabindra Bharati University, Kolkata 8. Dr. Deepak Sharma - Ex-officio Secretary Registrar, Tripura University.

Prof. Ganga Prasad Prasain, Hon'ble Vice-Chancellor, Tripura University at the outset, welcomed all the Members to the meeting. He specially thanked to the Members (Visitor's Nominees) for their kind presence in the meeting through virtual mode. He then briefed the Members on the letter received via email dt. 21.08.2023 from the Ministry of Education, Govt. of India, Department of Higher Education, New Delhi regarding fresh panel duly approved by the Executive Council of Tripura University for appointment of Chancellor of Tripura University.

Accordingly, after threadbare discussion, the Council resolved that a panel consisting of the following names of eminent persons be recommended for appointment of Chancellor of Tripura University in accordance with Statute 1(1) of the Statutes of Tripura University Act, 2006.

1. Prof. D.P. Singh, former Chairman, University Grants Commission, New Delhi.

- 2. Prof. N.C. Gautam, former Vice-Chancellor, MGCGV, Chitrakoot, Satna, M.P and former Vice-Chancellor of VBS Purvanchal University, Jaunpur, U.P.
- 3. Shri Ahmad Javed, former India's Ambassador to the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia and former Commissioner of Police, Mumbai.
- 4. Lt. Gen (Dr.) Konsam Himalay Singh (Retd.), Visiting Professor, Department of National Security Studies, Manipur Central University, Imphal.
- 5. Prof. K.K. Aggarwal, Chairman, National Board of Accreditation and former founder Vice-Chancellor, GGS Indraprastha University, Delhi.

The meeting came to an end with a vote of thanks to the Chair.

(Dr. Deepak Sharma) Registrar & Ex-officio Secretary

GP4 81: 08:2023

(Prof. Ganga Prasad Prasain) Vice-Chancellor & Ex-officio Chairman